March 10 2020

List of designated zones amended

Source: IBFD Tax Research Platform News

On 9 March 2020, the Federal Tax Authority (FTA) updated the list of designated zones (for the purposes of the Federal Decree-Law No. (8) of 2017 on Value Added Tax) by modifying the names of 2 designated zones as follows:

  • Emirate of Dubai: the "Free Zone Area in Al Qusais" is changed to "DAFZA Industrial Park Free Zone – Al Qusais"; and
  • Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah: the "Ras Al Khaimah Free Trade Zone" is changed to "Ras Al Khaimah Port Free Zone".

This amendment has no implication of the effective date for both areas becoming designated zones.