December 2020 / Focus Africa

December 8 2020

African Continental Free Trade Area Agreement – Angola, Cameroon, Lesotho and Tunisia Deposit Instrument of Ratification

On 4 November 2020, 27 November 2020 and 1 December 2020, Angola, Lesotho plus Tunisia, and Cameroon deposited their instrument of ratification for the African Continental Free Trade Area Agreement (AfCFTA) as 30th, 31st, 32nd, and 33rd country respectively. The AfCFTA has so far been signed by 54 countries and entered into force on 30 May 2019. Further developments will be reported as they occur.

Note: To date, 33 countries (Angola, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, eSwatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Lesotho, Mauritania, Mauritius, Namibia, Niger, Mali, Rwanda, the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda and Zimbabwe) have deposited their instruments of ratification.